Someone recently bought our

students are currently browsing our notes.

X

Fareen Akhtar

I am a Paralegal currently working full time for an international law firm. I am 31 years old. I completed the LLB (Hons) Law in 2011 with a 2:1, and recently completed the LLM LPC from 2017-2019 on a part time basis. I did a 5000 word short dissertation for my LLB on commercial law which was within the top 5 distinction graded dissertations produced within my student cohort. As a result I got to study a European Market Rights course at the University of Udine, Italy, for a week during summer 2011 after I graduated. I did another short dissertation for my LPC LLM of 3000 words on civil litigation (costs reforms) for which I got a distinction of 83%. This required a presentation and question session which formed 10% of my grade. Beyond the world of academia, I have been working as a Paralegal in civil litigation (specifically Defendant Insurance) for approximately 5 years. I also have first hand experience of advocacy, having worked as a part time duty representative/adviser at Wilesden County Court for people facing repossession. I was a second runner-up in a mooting competition at the University of Law. I have done an extended mini-pupillage with a senior employment barrister of No5 Chambers (Birmingham), and have done a vacation scheme with a national law firm, following which I got offered my first job as a Paralegal by that firm. I have experience of academic legal studies and professional legal studies at post graduate level. I thoroughly enjoy learning and developing my skills further - I put my professional legal skills to test everyday as a civil litigation Paralegal and have been licky enough to gain exposure to civil fraud within my current role too. I have directly relevant knowledge and skills to share for law students in the UK and I would be delighted to be able to assist others going through stages of life which I have successfully passed, and can happily advise on how to do things better! I can offer assistance at both an undergraduate and post graduate level. I am also able to give people an insight as to how academics can be applied and used in a day to day legal job as I do it everyday. Additionally, I have also recently made an effort to challenge myself through freelance academic legal writing: a new venture which I am excited to continue working on. I would be more than happy to provide more information about myself and/or my experience and look forward to hearing from you. Fareen

Legal Experience

  • LPC degree
  • Law degree
  • Professional experience as a laywer

Education

  • De Montfort University
  • University of Law

Law Modules

  • Business Law and Practice
  • Civil Litigation
  • Civil Procedure
  • Commercial Dispute Resolution
  • Company Law
  • Drafting
  • Personal Injury and Clinical Negligence
  • Skills

Tutoring Locations

  • Tutor place available
  • Tutee place available
  • Online available

Location

B60 1QH Bromsgrove

Pricing

£15.0/hour n/a

Last active
28 days ago

Contact For Free